How Much Does A D1 Licence Cost?

Can I drive a 17 seater minibus on a car Licence?

Did you pass your test before 1 January 1997.

You may drive a category B licence minibus with up to 9 seats and weighing up to 3.5 tonnes and you can also drive a D1 minibus over 3.5 tonne and up to 17 seats..

How many passengers can you carry on a D1 Licence?

16 passenger seatsThe category D1 licence is the comprehensive minibus licence. With a D1 licence you can drive any minibus or other vehicle that falls under these limits: No more than 16 passenger seats. A maximum length of 8 meters.

Do I need a medical for a D1 Licence?

In order to attend any of our Category D1 courses, you must be at least 17 years of age and have a Category B licence (car licence). Assuming you already have a Category B driving licence, your first step is attend and pass a PCV medical test (unless you have already completed a medical for an LGV licence).

What does D1 mean on a driving Licence?

D1 is a category on your driving licence that permits you to legally drive vehicles of between 9 & 16 seats. If you passed your test before 1st January 1997, you’ll automatically have category D1 on your licence.

How do you get a D1 Licence?

How to obtain D1 licence entitlementStep 1: Acquire provisional D1 licence (we can provide the forms)Step 2: Undertake a medical examination through your GP.Step 3: Pass the D1 theory test (we can provide the manuals for a refundable deposit)Step 4: Pass the practical driving test.

Do you need a D1 to drive a minibus?

There are special licensing arrangements allowing you to drive minibuses and buses without holding the higher Passenger Carrying Vehicle (PCV) driving licence entitlement. Drivers of minibuses having nine to 16 passenger seats will need to hold a PCV licence category D1 or a category D licence to drive larger buses.